ADE, A-State and Out of School Network Award $11.3 Million for After-School Learning – NEA Report


The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) of the Arkansas Department of Education, Arkansas State University and its sponsored initiative, the Arkansas Out-of-School Network, awarded 11 $.3 million in US Rescue Plan (ARP) ESSER III funds to 84 after-school, summer, and extended-year programs statewide.

The second round of federal ARP ESSER III relief funding was allocated to mitigate student learning loss as a result of the pandemic and support social-emotional development. The maximum award for the second round has been set at $150,000 to be used between September 1, 2022 and August 31, 2023. The grants will expand access to quality after-school and summer programs in underserved areas of the state and will provide ongoing funding for the 2021 grant recipients.

The winners, which include school districts and community partnership programs such as public libraries, nonprofit organizations, vocational and technical programs, faith-based organizations, and institutions of higher education, will use scholarships to meet the academic impact of lost instruction time on student learning through evidence-based after-school and summer programs.

“Even before the pandemic disrupted all aspects of student life, Arkansas was struggling to meet the demand for after-school and summer learning programs,” said Laveta Wills-Hale, principal. from the Arkansas Out of School Network. “For every child in an afterschool program in Arkansas, three more are waiting to be admitted. We will continue to work tirelessly to mitigate the effects of the pandemic and ensure that all children have access to quality after-school and summer learning programs. This funding is a critical resource for our state’s communities and programs, and we were able to distribute $18.3 million over the past year through ARP ESSER III funds. We are grateful to the Arkansas Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) for their partnership in ensuring that every child has access to quality after-school and summer learning.

With this announcement, more than $18.3 million in federal funds has been provided to Arkansas after-school and summer learning programs over the past year to ensure students get back on track. after the pandemic.

“We are thrilled to award an additional $11.3 million for much-needed programs that fill the void to provide learning opportunities for students,” said DESE Deputy Commissioner Dr. Ivy Pfeffer. “While there are new grants, many winners in this cycle are receiving additional funding to continue the good work they have done. This is proof of the need for and success of these programs, with students benefiting from continued collaboration and partnerships.

The 28 new grants are as follows:

– Arkansas Connections Academy, statewide

– Arkansas Associated Industries, Statewide

– BGC Phillips Counts, West Helena

– Salvation Army – Boys and Girls Club of Texarkana

– Blessed Christian Ministries, Pulaski County

– Boy Scouts of America, Little Rock

– Bridge 2 Achievement, Little Rock

– Change of Luck, Forrest City

– College Station Municipal Church – Youth Institute

– City of Hope Outreach, Conway

– Girl Scouts – Diamonds, statewide

– Jamison Alexander Success Center, Mayflower

– Lakeside School District, Hot Springs

– Leap Forward, Jonesboro

– Mabelvale High School, Little Rock

– Mr. Mac’s Learning Center, North Little Rock

– Mumford and Associates, Little Rock

– Newport School District

– 7th Street Elementary, North Little Rock

– Palestine-Wheatly Elementary, Palestine

– Potter’s House 98, Fayetteville

– Russellville School District

– St. Therese School, Little Rock

– Searcy School District

– Share the Love, North Little Rock

– Sheridan School District

– Trumann School District

– Westwind, North Little Rock

The 56 continuation scholarships include the following:

– Aaron & Belinda International Ministry, Inc., Pine Bluff

– Rural Community Alliance, Little Rock

– App from Positive Touch LLC, Little Rock

– AR STEM Coalition, Little Rock

– Camp 4H Arkansas, Little Rock

– Arkansas Employment Career Center, Little Rock

– Center for the Arts and Sciences of SE Arkansas, Pine Bluff

– Bald Knob School District

– AR River Valley Boys and Girls Club, Russellville-Dardanelle

– Cedar Mountain Boys and Girls Club, Hot Springs

– Boys and Girls Club Central AR, Little Rock

– Diamond Hills Boys and Girls Club, Alma

– El Dorado Boys and Girls Club

– Boys and Girls Club of Faulkner County

– McGehee Boys and Girls Club

– Van Buren Boys and Girls Club

– Big Brothers Big Sisters, North Little Rock

– Brandon House, Little Rock

– Carter’s Crew, North Little Rock

– Cathy’s Sweet Dumplings Daycare & Preschool, Eudora

– Arkansas Central Library System, Little Rock

– Town of Little Rock: West Central Summer STEAM

– City Youth Ministries, Jonesboro

– Clarendon School District

– Cutter Morning Star School District

– Danville School District

– Elkins School District

– Fordyce School District

– Four State Urban Development – Literacy Council, Texarkana

– Greenbrier School District

– Greenland School District

– Harrison School District

– Connections Heart2Heart, Wilmot

– High impact movement, hot springs

– Hispanic Community Services, Inc, Jonesboro

– House About It Community and Economic Development, Little Rock

– Izard County Consolidated School District

–Joseph Pfeifer Camp Kiwanis, Little Rock

– Life Skills for Youth, Little Rock

– LISA Academy, Little Rock

– Mansfield Middle School, Mansfield

– Melbourne School District

– Mountain View School District

– One Community, Inc., Springdale

– Our refuge house, Little Rock

– Ozark Guidance Arisa Health, Fayetteville

– Producing Exceptional People, Inc., Marion

– Pulaski County Youth Services – After School

– Rogers School District

– Second Baptist Church, Little Rock

– NWA SOAR, Springdale

– Songbird Media, Little Rock

– Teen Action Support Center, Rogers

– Tendaji Community Development Corp., Little Rock

– Washington Foundation Lil’ Jacob Learning Center, Eudora

– We care about Pulaski County

The Arkansas Out of School Network, administered by Arkansas State University, is one of 50 state extracurricular networks (SANs) working to promote an expansion of school- and school-related after-school and summer programs serving children and young people aged 5 to 19. AOSN’s mission is to create safe, healthy and rewarding experiences for young people in Arkansas outside of school hours.

For more information about the ARP ESSER III grant funding program, contact the Arkansas Out-of-School Network at (501) 660-1012 or visit

Press release


About Author

Comments are closed.